REVEALING THE SECRET- Inspiring us for every-year- Rabbi Daniel Leeman

R Leeman Book III cover high-res printers marksThe final volume of Revealing the Secret (3) has been released!!! To order your copy at a reduced price, e-mail this address. umuse613@gmail.com!
Similarly volumes 1 and 2 are still available.

The Perfect Present for the new year! from Rabbi Daniel Leeman brought to you by the Midnightrabbi inspires ! Like!


REVEALING
THE SECRET
Inspiring stories and practical
insights into Bereishis
by Rabbi Daniel Leeman
1) You don’t live in Israel, you will want to order from overseas, go to the following link: order on line Revealing-Secret-Beginning-Bereishis-ebook/
Also available from: Eli Goldsmith 057 317 5856 in Jerusalem 
2) watch this space for shemos and vayikra
3) looking for sponsors and dedications for bamidbar and devarim and also the Revealing the Secret weekly Devar Torah
4) subscribe to the weekly Revealing the Secret weekly Devar Torah at dhl@netvision.net.il
5) Also look for Rabbi Daniel Leeman on Kol haLashon/Start your day the torah way London and Manchester
Introduction
   Many years ago when I first moved to Israel, maintaining contact with family and friends from overseas often led to various discussions about religion.
   After a while, some of these ideas were developed in writing and a sample was sent to those who were interested.
 
   In the first article I wrote I discussed the rather complex concepts of spiritual purity and impurity, linking these ideas to many other areas, both in the Torah and also to their practical applications. As a result I received a fair amount of feedback. On the one hand it led to a Talmudic ‘give-and-take’ with the Rabbinical recipients, and on the other a debate with the more philosophical recipients. One of the recipients sent me a message asking, “What is spiritual purity?”
 
   Over several months this led to hours and hours, of questions and answers, explanations and investigations, until finally the questions had been satisfactorily dealt with.
   “Thanks, now I understand what spiritual purity is”, conceded the recipient.
   “The pleasure is all mine”, I replied, sinking back into my chair, mentally exhausted from all the correspondence and somewhat relieved that it had finally come to an end.
   And then I noticed that I had received another message, from someone else…
   “A few months ago you sent me an article… just a quick question: what is spiritual purity?”
   It was time to start sending out more regular articles, to try to explain a wider range of topics. And as the list of topics grew, so did the type of recipient.
   Some time ago I received a request from one of my readers to be removed from the distribution list. He wrote, “It is very interesting what you write, but you can’t possibly relate to me. I am not religious and therefore wish to be removed from the list”.
 
   Not wishing to annoy anybody, my first reaction was to comply with the request and to send an apology, together with a farewell note. However the reader seemed sincere, which led me to ask myself two questions: first, why someone would deprive themselves of something they find interesting; second, and more practically, how could I remove someone from my list on the grounds that they did not consider themselves religious? And so instead, I decided to send him my thoughts.
 
   “I write for people just like you!” I told him. “The Torah was given to all of us, to one nation with one heart, which means that it has something to offer each and every one of us – male or female, young or old, religious or not. How can I possibly not ‘relate’ to you? I am exactly the same as you! And when I write I try to bear this in mind and retain universality. And so, you see, I am writing for you after all!
   You seem like a fair person, so I’ll make a deal with you: remember what I have said and give it one more chance. If you still want me to remove your name from the list then you will never hear from me again.”
 
   More than a year later he is still reading my weekly writings.
   This book is a bridge. A bridge connects distant points to each other.
   ‘Revealing the Secret’ is a bridge catering for everybody, connecting us to and bringing us closer to the secrets of life, to the Torah; connecting the physical to the spiritual, the body to the soul; connecting us to our past and to our future. It connects us to our true selves.
   Many years ago, when I first came to Israel to study, I went to a local family for a Shabbos meal. They also had another guest, whom we shall call Moshe, who had also recently arrived in Israel.
   As the meal began and the formal introductions were over, Moshe was asked what had made him come to Israel.

Moshe began by talking about the successful sports career he had been pursuing and then of his holiday-turned-nightmare, when he was involved in a terrible bus accident in the Middle East. He was amongst the few survivors, but was badly injured.

The authorities were determined to cover up the incident and Moshe was left lying in the burning sun for what seemed like hours.

When people finally arrived to clear away the debris they took Moshe and put him in prison. Fearing for his life, he managed to escape briefly and find a phone to call his family in America for help, before being seized again and locked in a room.

Fortunately that one phone call bore fruit and his family somehow were able to trace his whereabouts and negotiate his freedom.

   “This incident,” concluded Moshe, “Was a clear heavenly sign to me that instead of pursuing a career as a sportsman I should go to Israel and study.”
 
   Everyone present was impressed by Moshe’s amazing story.
 
    My host then turned to me and asked me why I had come to Israel.
   “Err… to study”, I replied meekly.
 
   Needless to say, as a result of his story, it was Moshe (not I) who was the centre of attention for the rest of the meal.
 
   A story helps to make a connection between ideas, bridging the gaps to reveal what would otherwise remain secret. There is no better way to help ’Reveal the Secret’.
Daniel Leeman,
Eretz Yisroel, 5771 (2010) HAPPY NEW YEAR present for you!
   The king of Babylonia had a disturbing dream and sought someone to interpret it. When he realised that his regular interpreters were incapable of revealing the true meaning of the dream, the interpretation of the dream was rendered to be a “secret” (i.e. unknown to man). In his anger he threatened to slay the sages of the time.
   When, as a result of Divine mercy “the secret (interpretation) was revealed” to one of his subjects, and subsequently the sages were saved, the subject expressed thanks and acknowledgement to God.
   First and foremost I must thank and praise God for all the goodness He has bestowed and continues to bestow upon me, and in particular for enabling me to complete this first volume of Revealing the Secret. All the thanks are truly to Him. Mere words cannot even begin to express my deep debt of gratitude and I can only hope and pray that I fulfil His will properly.
   “May the name of God be blessed forever and ever.”
   “The secret was revealed” to the king’s subject only with the help of his “companions”. In truth these “companions” were none other than the great sages of the day. Indeed it is the great sages who have transmitted the Divine wisdom throughout the ages and it is to them that we owe a debt of gratitude for any true connection to spirituality that we may have today. This applies equally to all the Torah leaders in every generation, up until the contemporary Rabbinic authorities.
   Over the years I have learnt from several great Torah personalities, some on a regular basis, and it is their influence as mentors and teachers that I want to acknowledge, as well as the life training and outlook on life that they have provided me with.
   A special mention must be made of HaRav Yehuda Samet shlit”a, and with a more direct reference to this publication: HaRav Zev Leff shlit”a, HaRav Mendel Weinbach shlit”a and HaRav Binyomin Goodman shlit”a for their approbations, taking the time and effort to read the manuscript and provide valuable feedback.
   Thanks are also due to my companions – not only those who helped directly with the book in one way or another, but also those with whom I have shared many other positive experiences, from relatives to the special host families who welcomed me into their homes; from my partners in learning, some of whom were also mentors, to friends and associates. Even, or perhaps especially, my readers and listeners, whether passive or active – they are all my valuable companions.
   There is always so much to learn from every person and every encounter in life.  Sometimes they forge a deep impression which may not have been appreciated at the time. Even brief ‘encounters’ should not be underestimated, for they are really all everlasting learning experiences in one’s spiritual life. Therefore everyone I have ever had any interaction with, either directly or indirectly, deserves a special mention.
   However to avoid grouping all these very individual personalities together in a long tedious list and risk leaving it incomplete, an all-encompassing ‘thank-you’ is probably the only way, albeit inadequately, to attempt to pay tribute to their influences.
   Even though the “companions” of the king’s subject played a crucial role in ensuring that “the secret was revealed” to him, we have no record of their being thanked! Perhaps this teaches us that words of thanks are an insignificant reward for the timeless lessons in life gained through companionship. According to the principle that, sometimes, ‘by adding we can diminish’, the best expression of thanks is perhaps silence, I hope my brief words of thanks are able to properly articulate this thought.
   There is, however, one special “companion” to whom, regardless of how many words of thanks I express, such appreciation will be a drop in the ocean and as though I had said nothing. My wife has wholeheartedly dedicated herself towards our spiritual goals (including the production of Revealing the Secret) and whatever we have achieved would not have been possible without her constant prayers and support. May she be strong and healthy and continue to be a wonderful ‘Eishes Chayil’ and mother.
   A very special thanks to my parents, Sidney and Irene Leeman, who have always advised, encouraged and supported me. Whatever I have achieved is due to them and should be considered to their credit as their achievement. I will be forever grateful for everything they have done and continue to do for me, always in an unassuming manner. Only as a parent can I begin to understand and appreciate, at least partially, their greatness and their love for me. I hope and pray that they always have nachas from their children and grandchildren and that they should always be healthy. A special mention must also be made of their vital contribution to the publication of this book, literally throughout each and every step, and in particular of their advice, editing and proofreading.

End of this preview.

Enjoyed the preview?
Buy NowNew Publication:

Poster for sefer
Available from: Eli Goldsmith 057 317 5856 in Jerusalem or order on line -Bereishis-ebook/dp/B005985RPG_

Start reading our new book Revealing the Secret – Names (Shemos) below
 
REVEALING
THE SECRET
Inspiring stories and practical
insights into Shemos
by Rabbi Daniel Leeman
Volume 2:
Edited by: Sidney and Irene Leeman and Avril Links
Introduction
   Once the deadline of the first volume of Revealing the Secret had been met, the intense period of pressure and excitement that had been experienced for the last month or so did not end. Instead it continued throughout the next few weeks, partially because of the book
   It was only until quite a few weeks later, after a busy, prolonged trip overseas, that I finally returned to the study hall where I was to resume my daily class and begin to reintegrate back into my normal schedule. 
   “Shalom Aleichem!” I was greeted.
   “Aleichem Shalom!” After all the excitement of the previous few weeks, I was looking forward to putting the pressures of the last few weeks behind me.
   “How was your holiday?” I was asked, “And when is the next volume of Revealing the Secret coming out?”
   Once again, it was time to get back to work.
   “So what secret are you revealing then?” I have been asked many times.
   “You’ll have to read the book,” has been my standard reply (in my best possible sales pitch).
   On one occasion after overhearing such a dialogue, an outsider responded “I have!” It was my brother-in-law who had read the entire book in a day!
   Perhaps now is the time to reveal the secret behind Revealing the Secret.
   We have a principle that reward is bestowed according to the efforts put in to attain a goal. Some sections of the Torah are shorter and easier to understand than others. Does this mean then that these sections carry with them less reward than others?
   When I went to the late Rav Moshe Halbershtam, of blessed memory, for my first Rabbinical ordinance, my clanking knees were shaking the entire bench and my chattering teeth could be heard outside.
   I had spent every waking moment of the last few months reviewing the necessary material, but now would be the real test not only as to whether I knew the material, but also whether or not I was able to apply it practically.
   “What would be,” began the Rav, “in such-and-such situation?”
   “Ideally it would be prohibited, but after the fact it would be permitted,” I blurted out nervously.
   “Where did that answer come from? Have I failed?” I wondered to myself. Why was I so quick to answer?

Immediately I had a flashback of a meeting I had with the Rav many years earlier, where he advised me to pursue a certain spiritual matter. At the end, wanting to be certain that I would succeed he said to me in perfect English, “s-l-o-w-l-y, s-l-o-w-l-y!”

   And now here I was rushing off the answer before the Rav had barely even finished his question, and what’s more I had hardly even heard the question!
   When the examination was finally over, I checked out my first answer and thankfully I had answered correctly. 
   In addition to the actual accumulation of Torah wisdom, there is another aspect of spiritual growth: internalising and living the wisdom, applying it to our lives and making it ‘second nature’.
   Perhaps the idea is that sometimes in the case of the seemingly ’easier’ parts of the Torah,  the toil lies not in the actual learning and accumulating of knowledge.  Instead it is in internalising the teaching and putting it into practice.
   Of course the Torah itself reveals to us the deeper secret of life and spirituality. But the greater effort we expend, and invest in absorbing and internalising its messages, the closer we will become to revealing the secret.
   So what secret am I revealing? I am revealing the secret of revealing the secret. What secret am I revealing? I am not; you are! You’ll have to read, or, more accurately, internalise the book!
   REVEALING THE SECRET is in your hands.
Daniel Leeman,
Eretz Yisroel, 5771 (2011)
Acknowledgements
   When my grandfather, Shimon Zelig (‘Zelik’) Leeman, of blessed memory, was a young boy, he moved from his parent’s home in Birzh, Lithuania, to Vabolnik to stay with his mother’s parents. There he would be able to study Torah in the ‘cheder’ which would ultimately prepare him for being one of the few students in Birzh to be selected to study in the prestigious Slabodka yeshiva.
 
   On his first day, the old Rebbe took him to a table where they opened some holy books in preparation for the learning. As they sat down and began to learn, suddenly some coins ‘fell’ onto the open books. Both the Rebbe and my great grandfather told my grandfather that the money was thrown down by the angels in heaven for him and no doubt they would send more if he was a good boy.
   Of course we need incentives in life, but I always wondered if giving off the impression that coins ‘fell down from the Heavens’ was completely honest, when clearly it was the Rabbi was the one who was responsible for these coins ‘falling down’. The truth is however is that it is even more honest to describe them as ‘falling down from the Heavens’. Everythingthat happens to us, however else it might seem, is ultimately from the Heavens.
   Therefore first and foremost, I must thank and praise God for all the Heavenly good He has sent me and in particular for enabling me to complete this second volume of Revealing the Secret. All the thanks are truly to Him, including all the help He has sent in the form of the various messengers.
   Many, many years ago, my grandfather, of blessed memory came to stay. As small children we particularly looked forward to the stories he would tell us about King Solomon and the generous gifts that he would bestow upon us. But this time he gave me a small piece of paper instead. In tears I pleaded, “I don’t want this piece of paper. Give me my fifty pence coin!” which had become the customary gift. I would simply not hear of anything else and to my great relief he finally relented.
 
   It was only many years later that I began to appreciate that the small piece of paper – which was a one pound note – is actually of course worth more than a fifty pence coin.
   It seems that it is proper to express our gratitude to a greater level than simply repaying back acts of kindness. At first glance this seems strange and even unjust, because if someone does me a favour by lending me some money for example, if I return the favour and lend him the same amount of money in his time of need, surely we are now ‘evens’? However upon closer examination there are plenty of additional factors that could change this perception. Perhaps even the same amount of money has different potential for different people under different circumstances: for one it might have been used to make a bad investment and another to win the lottery. Or perhaps, for example, it is harder for one person to part with his money than another. Either way, a simple repayment might not suffice qualitatively.
   Perhaps another reason why we must express our gratitude to a greater level than a simple repayment could be because sometimes as recipients we might not even recognise the intention or level of kindness of our benefactors. They might be talking pounds whilst we are talking pence! And it is with this introduction that I attempt to begin my acknowledgments and first and foremost my beloved parents.
   My parents, and in many respects my role-models, Sidney and Irene Leeman have always advised, encouraged and supported me. They have instilled in me, both actively and passively, many of the invaluable essential values and ‘tools’ of life. I will be forever grateful for everything they have done and continue to do for me, always in their ‘trademark’ unassuming manner.
  A special mention must also be made of their vital contribution to this publication, literally throughout each and every step, and in particular for their advice, editing and proofreading. It would simply not have been possible without them. Additionally they sponsored the publication in memory of their beloved parents, of blessed memory, may their souls be elevated.
   A special mention must also be made of my parents-in-law, Alan (‘Daddio’) and Avril (‘Mummio’) Links, who welcomed me into their family. It is truly a privilege to be a part of such a special family. They are already well known for their integrity, good heartedness, hospitality and generosity (sorry, all of their children are already married!). Indeed this publication follows the first volume of Revealing the Secret which they generously sponsored in memory of their beloved parents. Additionally my mother-in-law once again gave active and invaluable advice and assistance, often under pressure and with great self-sacrifice, bringing professionalism and quality throughout the different stages of the book, and in particular the editing and proofreading. It was a major commitment and it has been a pleasure to work together.
   A special mention must be made of HaRav Yehuda Samet shlit”a, and with a more direct reference to this publication: HaRav Zev Leff shlit”a, HaRav Mendel Weinbach shlit”a and HaRav Binyomin Goodman shlit”a for taking the time and effort to read the manuscript and provide valuable feedback.
   Much thanks are also due once again to my Rabbis, mentors, relatives, friends and also my readers and listeners. In particular a special thanks to everyone involved in researching for this production, including those mentioned in the stories for providing permission and the necessary details.
   Thanks also to my sister Aviva Leeman for all of her advice and assistance, and in particular for designing the front cover in the midst of her busy schedule.
   Last but by no means least, a special thanks to my wife and Eishes Chayil, a truly ‘holy woman’, who has wholeheartedly dedicated herself towards our spiritual goals including Revealing the Secret, as well as being actively involved with its publication. Whatever we have achieved is only due to her constant encouragement, prayers and selfless support.

End of this preview.

Enjoyed the preview?
Buy Now

http://www.amazon.com/Revealing-Secret-Names-Shemos-

ebook/dp/B00596X0NY B00596X0NY

1) if someone wants to order from overseas, they should go to the following link:
Buy Revealing the Secret!
2) watch this space for shemos and vayikra
3) looking for sponsors and dedications for bamidbar and devarim and also the Revealing the Secret weekly Devar Torah 
4) subscribe to the weekly Revealing the Secret weekly Devar Torah at dhl@netvision.net.il
5) Also look for Rabbi Daniel Leeman on Kol haLashon/Start your day the torah way London and Manchester

HAMLATZA

It is my pleasure to pen a letter of recommendation for my dear friend and colleague Rabbi Danny Leeman shlita, who serves as Maggid Shiur at our Beis Midrash.

 

Rabbi Leeman’s well-presented Shiurim are attended by an enthusiastic audience and have merited much acclaim by the participants. Intertwined with classical commentaries and modern authorities, he spices his lectures with stories, anecdotes and innovative insights.

 

Throughout his book too, Rabbi Leeman utilizes the power of the story and mashal in a very inspiring and captivating way to illustrate a deeper understanding of the pshat. He demonstrates his special talent of showing how messages and morals gleaned from long ago events are relevant to our daily lives, motivating one to strive for a higher level of spiritual achievement.

 

With its pleasant format, readers are sure to enjoy the diverse topics discussed,              spiced with wit and a deep understanding of human nature.

Rabbi Binyomin Goodman

Revealing the Secret©
Volume 2: Shemos
Copyright © by Daniel Leeman, 2011 Perfect present for the new year 2012
Approbations and letters of recommendation
Product Details

Revealing the Secret – Vayikra by Rabbi Daniel Leeman (Nov 15, 2012)

Formats Price New Used
Kindle EditionAuto-delivered wirelessly
  (read for free, Join Amazon Prime)
to buy
4.
Product Details

Revealing the Secret 2 by Rabbi Daniel Leeman (2013)

Formats Price New Used
Hardcover $23.06 $23.05

 

Revealing the Secret - In the Beginning (Bereishis)

Revealing the Secret – Vayikra [Kindle Edition]

Rabbi Daniel Leeman 


Kindle Price: $7.99 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Midnightrabbi inspired aka Eli Goldsmith

Midnightrabbi inspired aka Eli Goldsmith, is originally from a well-known family, in the music biz and entertainment industry, from London, has transferred his upbringing and talents to be at the cutting edge of culture and Jewish talent hosting events for many programs. He studied in England at John Lyons School Harrow, Woodhouse College and Sussex University! Continuing his education in Israel, Talmudic Law and group council at Ohr Somayach, Kollel Aiza Birah and Kollel Boston, in Derech Hamelech and Rabbi in 6 well known programs where was named honorably the Midnightrabbi by the beloved students themselves, He has rounded off his outlook with a large breath of wisdom including the "7 habits" from Stephen Covey to become the “10 habits” practical business successful approach. Working as a Consultant in the well-known Charity these past 4 years, the Jaffa Institute and sister program the Bet Shemesh Educational Center is where he honed his talents as office management and consultancy and formed his special bond with many special people worldwide. Recently working as a Consultant and Office manager of UKA United Kashruth Authority with professionalism and Kosher Certification! And as a Counselor at Retorno the LARGEST JEWISH DRUG REHAB center in the world. Eli was excitedly consulting @Grantwatch.com as Customer Service Executive updating their Social media and @Student Services at MJI Institute. Eli Goldsmith is currently looking for new opportunities to inspire. Eli is near Jerusalem with his wife and 6 beautiful children. Contact 972-53-317-5856 Email - umuse613@gmail.com

13 responses to “REVEALING THE SECRET- Inspiring us for every-year- Rabbi Daniel Leeman”

  1. midnightrabbi says :

    Please feel free to contact Eli Goldsmith
    Israel 00972-57-317-5856
    U.S. line 718-705-7395
    Email – umuse613@gmail.com

    This link is almost the main stage for all the important sites we recommend you to see http://t.co/0whRPzX

    For all our crucial work to make a difference with your help for the youth and world at large, “to live inspired!”

    Precious LAST days of the year, U must Donate 2 Ethiopian Bar Mitzvot now! http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=202892753099541

  2. Harold Bond says :

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

  3. midnightrabbi says :

    thanks too Daniel Leeman dhl@netvision.net.il

    Over Chanukah, we recite a special prayer in our silent prayers and in the grace after meals. In this prayer we pledge thanks and recognition to the Master of the World for all of the miracles that He has performed for us and in particular the miracles of Chanukah.

    Interestingly though, we appear to be expressing our gratitude not only for bringing about our victory, but also for the actual war itself?! Where is the ‘miracle’ in bringing about a war; surely it is a natural outcome of a disagreement between two parties? In a similar vein, it appears that in addition to the miracle of the weak minority being victorious, there is an additional miracle in the fact that they were also righteous, pure Torah scholars, as opposed to their evil, impure sinners. But again these factors generally do not affect ability to succeed in war!

    In addition, on the one hand the miracles are described to have taken place ‘in those days’ but on the other to be ‘like this day’. But surely we celebrate the unique miracles of the past, rather than those of today, and in any case, where are these miracles of ‘this day’?

    In a similar prayer on Purim we mention how Haman attempted to destroy the Jews, but on Chanukah we mention that the enemies literally ‘stood on Your nation of Israel’. What does this term mean?

    And finally, the entire account appears a little superficial: how the Jews were shown a miracle, as a result of which they improved their Divine service. Such artificially induced spiritual awakenings are generally short lived, and so what was the ultimate purpose of these miracles?

    In the terrorist attack upon the Twin Towers (‘9/11’) out of 850 Hatzola (Jewish Emergency Service) members on the scene, 100 of them were trapped, but miraculously all survived.

    One of these was R. Mechel Handler, executive of Hatzola. When he found out about the attack he immediately left the Hatzola office on East 9th. Arriving on the scene he appreciated the extent of the situation. When he saw the second plane he burst into tears as he comprehended the extent of the effects of the situation. He got to work immediately. In the midst of everything there was a loud noise as the South Tower began to crumble. Everyone ran for their lives. Mechel ran to take cover in an ambulance. Moments later his feet – still dangling out the ambulance door were completely buried in rubble. He thought it was over and he started praying. The soot made it hard to breathe.

    When the noise stopped he was trapped and was suffocating! He was desperate for air, and felt his end slowly approaching.

    Suddenly he realised that his nose was pressed against an oxygen tank! He praised the Master of the World and with a little help he took oxygen and could once again breathe!

    He went on to free himself and continued helping other victims!

    The purpose of ‘big’ miracles of the past are not just to momentarily ‘take our breath away’ but rather to encourage us to always ‘look under our very noses’ and make us appreciate every breath we take – everyday.

    What is so miraculous about a war, or about righteous, pure, Torah scholars being good soldiers? Nothing… and everything! Indeed these might be scenarios appearing to be ‘natural’ – but ‘nature’ is indeed miraculous! Even a war, seemingly started by two opposing forces is not due to ‘natural’ circumstances, but is rather also Divinely ordained [1].

    This is the message of Chanukah.

    In the time of the Greeks, the Greeks were successful in ‘standing upon the Jews’- in imposing their outlook upon the Jews whilst degrading spirituality. Subsequently the Jews began assimilating and adopting the Greek outlook that everything is nature and happenstance. Therefore the ‘big’ miracle of Chanukah was sent to save them, which after witnessing there was indeed a spiritual awakening. It was not intended to be a one-off inspiration that would soon be forgotten, but rather a constant reminder of the miraculous nature of everything around us. Subsequently after witnessing the miracles, they did not undertake a one-off spiritual awakening of thanks, but rather ‘shed light’ upon the spiritual darkness of the Greek outlook and returned to the regular everyday Divine service of the lighting of the menorah.

    This is the message of Chanukah. The big miracles demonstrate to us that everything – even ‘nature’ is in fact miraculous. A person who does not believe this, we have been taught [2] has no portion in the Torah. This is because it is the Torah that sets us apart from the Greek perspective that everything is ’nature’ and devoid of spirituality. The Torah is beyond physicality [3] and this world [4] and it is therefore that which connects us to spirituality and teaches us that things simply cannot happen without relevance and reason… even those everyday things which are under our very nose!

    Have a naturally miraculous Chanukah,

    Dan.

    Sources:

    Story: Even in the Darkest Moments, Zeev Breier

    [1] Avodah Zara 2b

    [2] Ramban, end of Bo

    [3] e.g. Pesachim 54a

    [4] Rashi Koheles 1:9

  4. midnightrabbi says :

    http://www.jewish-e-books.com/jewish-e-books-2/torah-bible-commentaries-e-books/revealing-the-secret-exodus.html
    N.B. This e-mail address no longer receives mail – instead use: leeman_c@mac.org.il

    The book Revealing the Secret II (on Shemos, Vayikra, Purim, Pesach and more) has now been released!
    To order your copy just click on: Buy Revealing the Secret 2 (or in Israel call: 089298138)

    Yosef swore that the Children of Israel would be redeemed [1]. But in reality, we see [2] that many remained behind in Egypt. How can we reconcile this?

    Moshe was due to fly back to America from Israel to participate in a family wedding. Having much luggage he decided to go for an early check in on Kanfei Nesharim street in Givat Shaul. He had to be there by 2pm.
    He got in a taxi “Givat shaul – quickly please!” and made small talk with driver. He arrived at 12:45
    Finally it was his turn.
    “Passport please”.
    But Moshe could not find his passport. After organising a place for his baggage he returned back to his dormitory for his passport. To cut a long story short, after many phone calls and an extensive search later, Moshe, defeated, found himself waiting in the old city for a taxi back to pick up his baggage. He couldn’t find his passport anywhere, he probably would miss the wedding and what’s more he only had a few minutes to retrieve his baggage. And now no taxi would stop for him – hardly surprising: why take a student when just up the road there were endless amounts if tourists who also gave generous tips.
    Finally he was desperate and he stepped in front of an empty taxi. The driver wound down his window to rebuke him, but Moshe simply got in the taxi and stated his destination.
    “Givat Shaul – quickly please!”
    “I recognise that instruction,” thought the driver and turned around.
    For the first time in 10 months Moshe had taken the same taxi driver!
    Moshe looked around and saw his passport on the seat!
    They arrived at 1:59!

    Yosef swore that ‘the Children of Israel’ would have a ticket to freedom. But his oath also included a prerequisite of being a part of the exodus: to be part of the Children of Israel [3]. This was the passport to the redemption. A ticket without a passport is useless.

    The final redemption will be similar to the exodus from Egypt [4]. All of our ‘baggage’ that we have accumulated in this world will either help us or hinder us: it all depends on how we spend our time in this world.
    The promise of the final redemption is our ‘ticket’ to the ultimate goal of life. But it is all useless without a valid passport. Will we pass passport control: can we be identified by our passports? To be a part of the final redemption, we have to behave like a member of the Jewish people.

    Have a really Jewish Shabbos,

    Dan.

    Additional sources:
    Story based on: In the Spirit of the Maggid, p. 221, R. Paysach Krohn
    [1] Bereishis 50:25
    [2] Rashi, Shemos 13:18
    [3] See also Revealing the Secret: SHEMOS – Vaeira, ‘That’s Majuk!’
    [4] Sanhedrin 111a

  5. midnightrabbi says :

    Reblogged this on midnightrabbi inspires! and commented:

    Shabbos Chazak and live for ever with strength and nachus🙂
    The book Revealing the Secret II (on Shemos, Vayikra, Purim, Pesach and more) has now been released!
    To order your copy just click on: Buy Revealing the Secret 2 (or in Israel call: 089298138)
    http://www.jewish-e-books.com/jewish-e-books-2/torah-bible-commentaries-e-books/revealing-the-secret-exodus.html
    Yosef swore that the Children of Israel would be redeemed [1]. But in reality, we see [2] that many remained behind in Egypt. How can we reconcile this?

    Moshe was due to fly back to America from Israel to participate in a family wedding. Having much luggage he decided to go for an early check in on Kanfei Nesharim street in Givat Shaul. He had to be there by 2pm.
    He got in a taxi “Givat shaul – quickly please!” and made small talk with driver. He arrived at 12:45
    Finally it was his turn.
    “Passport please”.
    But Moshe could not find his passport. After organising a place for his baggage he returned back to his dormitory for his passport. To cut a long story short, after many phone calls and an extensive search later, Moshe, defeated, found himself waiting in the old city for a taxi back to pick up his baggage. He couldn’t find his passport anywhere, he probably would miss the wedding and what’s more he only had a few minutes to retrieve his baggage. And now no taxi would stop for him – hardly surprising: why take a student when just up the road there were endless amounts if tourists who also gave generous tips.
    Finally he was desperate and he stepped in front of an empty taxi. The driver wound down his window to rebuke him, but Moshe simply got in the taxi and stated his destination.
    “Givat Shaul – quickly please!”
    “I recognise that instruction,” thought the driver and turned around.
    For the first time in 10 months Moshe had taken the same taxi driver!
    Moshe looked around and saw his passport on the seat!
    They arrived at 1:59!

    Yosef swore that ‘the Children of Israel’ would have a ticket to freedom. But his oath also included a prerequisite of being a part of the exodus: to be part of the Children of Israel [3]. This was the passport to the redemption. A ticket without a passport is useless.

    The final redemption will be similar to the exodus from Egypt [4]. All of our ‘baggage’ that we have accumulated in this world will either help us or hinder us: it all depends on how we spend our time in this world.
    The promise of the final redemption is our ‘ticket’ to the ultimate goal of life. But it is all useless without a valid passport. Will we pass passport control: can we be identified by our passports? To be a part of the final redemption, we have to behave like a member of the Jewish people.

    Have a really Jewish Shabbos,

    Dan.

    Additional sources:
    Story based on: In the Spirit of the Maggid, p. 221, R. Paysach Krohn
    [1] Bereishis 50:25
    [2] Rashi, Shemos 13:18
    [3] See also Revealing the Secret: SHEMOS – Vaeira, ‘That’s Majuk!’
    [4] Sanhedrin 111a
    N.B. This e-mail address no longer receives mail – instead use: leeman_c@mac.org.il

Leave a Reply

